So Michael Vick is back, or is he??? Roger Goodell has conditionally re-instated the former All-Pro QB. They man just served 20+ months at the so-called "hardest" prison in the U.S., and now he probably won't be active to play until mid to late October of this year, week 6 to be exact. What a joke! I heard a good comment on 790 the Zone yesterday morning. Goodell doesn't want Vick to be the headline in week 1 of his 2009 NFL season. Re-instate him towards the middle of the year, when Tom Brady has 5 or 6 healthy games under his belt, the Steelers are 5-0 on the way to their 2nd straight NFL championship and Matt Ryan has eliminated the possibility of a "Sophomore Slump". At this point in the NFL season, he believes there will be bigger stories to worry about than the return of Michael Vick. In actuality, whether Vick is fully re-instated today or 3 years from now, the headline will be Michael Vick is back! I also heard some crap about Goodell being concerned about where and what he spends his money on. Michael Vick should be allowed to legally spend his money on whatever he chooses. He earns it, and it should be no concern of Goodell's. I honestly hope Vick returns to the NFL as the same player he always was. To this day he is, and probably always will be the most entertaining player to ever suit up and put on the shoulder pads. He has more than paid his dues for his crime. Let the man earn a living. I'm not even going to bring up the Donte' Stallworth situation.
The Pro
Tuesday, July 28, 2009
Let Him Play!!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comments:
The NFL has done some good things with trying to clean up its image, but now Goodell is starting to look like a communist. He should take on the field issues only and let the law handle itself. It is now getting ridiculous. Let the teams decide, let the man play.
Personally, I hate what Vick did, but he has served his time and paid his price. Let him play. No matter what, he is the face of dog-fighting and his story is about race to a lot of people. When race is an issue, it becomes a huge story. He will be the story no matter when he comes out to play.
The Stallworth incident is totally unrelated and not comparable. 30 days for what he did is debatable depending on how you look at it. Stallworth stayed at the scene, called the cops, cooperated with the cops, but yes, did kill someone while driving after drinking, though not drunk and the guy was jay-walking! Stallworth's incident was an accident, Vick's was a continuous run of crime and done for pure joy, cruelty and money. No comparison, Vick's incident is a first since I am not aware of any incident that has any similarities to it besides Pacman.
Goddell cannot tell these players who they can hang out with, where they can spend their money, etc.
Good post, this will/should cause a lot of debate. Though personally I'm sick of seeing it on ESPN. The same with Favre. Retire already, you suck now and you are ruining your name.
Post a Comment