Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Q and A with Hall of Famer Bobby Cox


Before the interview I was just going to say all positive things about the Braves first month, just to see how Bobby would react. I came to the conclusion that he thinks the Braves are off to a good start and are in first place in the east....as the interview concludes he gets a little mad at me, read and see if you can tell what pisses him off the most....

The Joe : Hello Bobby, nice to see you again, been a great start to the season.

Cox: Yeah, Yeah it has, you know when you throw strikes and hit .330 as a team like we are, the season will always be a successful one.

The Joe: Well, I see that left field has been a strong part of our lineup over the past few years, how happy are you with the left field situation?

Cox: Couldn't be happier, Diaz has played great this year, not only is he a great stick (.220), he is also great in the field, I mean the jumps he gets on balls, I would have to say he is one of the best in the game. Now Garrett Anderson is a little banged up but when he comes back I will start the platoon process again, and we will be off and running. Garrett Anderson is a professional hitter, and he really loves being in Atlanta, great defense as well.

The Joe: Ok, Jeff Francoeur is off to a hot start, what can you contribute that to?

Cox: Well, 3 words: Terry Pendelton....

The Joe: Really, TP has been working hard with all the hitters, let's get back to that....

It seems we are getting good innings from the top 3 guys in our pitching rotation, is this what you wanted when you sign Lowe and Vazquez?

Cox: Our starters have done exactly what we want them to do, they are all having good seasons and maybe with a break here and there they would be leading the league in wins....

The Joe: Ok well that was a vague answer, finally we come to the infield and I will start with Kelly Johnson, how has he done so far this year?

Cox: Kelly has done everything we have asked of him, we don't expect him to hit .200 or have many homeruns, or even be able to field the ball, like all other 2 baggers, we just like his swing, and he is a great person and we think he makes our lineup intimidating. I mean come on his on base is like .250, he can take a pitch with the best of them....

The Joe: Bobby, come on, really, come on, Kelly Johnson is the worst 2nd basemen in the big leagues.

Cox: I don't like your tone, this.....

The Joe: 2nd our pitching outside of Jurrgens is suspect and you expect Tom Glavine to save us, well I got news for you he is 100 yrs old and can't throw 30 feet....

Cox: Security, get this....

The Joe: Jordan Shafer has a hole in his bat, Matt Diaz is awful, Garrett Anderson is like using a used bandaid, and you, TP, and McDowell have leadership of kindergarten teachers, I have to say you have past your prime, and don't get me started on Casey Kotchman....

Cox: Security!! Oh wait no you didn't, did you just talk bad about Kotchy, oh man, if I wasn't 10,000 yrs old I would beat you sonny, Kotchman is great, he can field and he can hit, what more do you want from a 1st baseman....

The Joe: (as security is taking me out) : maybe a first baseman who has power and can hit above .250 is that too much to ask, every team except the Braves has a decent 1st baseman with power, I mean seriously is that too much to ask, please just get me a good 1- bagger....

Cox: You shut your mouth, I platoon my best two players Infante and Prado, because they are too good to start everyday....

The Joe: what? I was talking about Kotchman, not the fact that you leave two of our best players on the bench so we can suck....

Cox: I mean who said that, it was me, was it? Maybe I am losing my head, get him out of here....

The Joe: thank you for your time

Cox: bugger off, I need to watch videos of '95 when I was a good manager....

----------
The Joe

2 comments:

Matt said...

Well played sir. Couldn't have said it better. His time is done as well as TP's. Livan F-ing Hernandez shut us down! Are you kidding me? This is when Frank puts some mid level prospects and goes after Adam Dunn. Ridiculous. We are now 6-14 over the last 20 games. Pathetic

Unknown said...

That was a disgustingly true viewpoint that is frustrating me almost on a daily basis.

Garrett Anderson is the WORST pickup the Braves have made in a long time. He plays without passion, or intensity. However, he is a MONSTER in the clean-up spot, pretty much guaranteeing that they'll pitch to Chipper. Fucking ridiculous.